Map Creation

I worked more on map creation this week to finish out the tutorial level, adding stairs and props to the trail up to the level boss. I also kept working on the other levels including adding a small settlement to the grasslands and improving the look of bandit camps. I added a new discoverable object, which shows up on the map when a player is near it. Previously, shrines were the only waypoint on maps but now I can use discoverable objects to indicate bandit camps, villages, and any other key locations.

Inventory

In order to prepare the next build, I wanted to thoroughly bug test and optimize inventory since it’s been a while since I last changed it. I optimized inventory by reducing overhead in each slot widget and migrating most functionality towards the parent inventory component. I also added double click to transfer items from chests to player inventory, and allowed the player to double click to equip quickly. I fixed a lot of bugs with the shrine collection box (which shares inventory across all collection boxes), as well as general bugs with disappearing items. Finally, I added an ability to drop items by dragging them out of the bag widget.

Play Testing & Bug fixes

I began packaging builds of the game to playtest and wrote notes on bugs and improvements to make, then spent a day making appropriate changes to the code. Some changes include: butterflies not moving properly, drowning not triggering on frame drops, collision on shelters not accurate, gourd bottle stays out when switching too quickly, glitchy water transition on swamp level…etc. I spent a lot of time fixing easily identifiable bugs, so I can get more effective feedback on the next released build.

Next Time

I want to polish the merchant and trading system, to give players in the next build a chance to purchase items with the money they collect. For demo purposes, one of these items will be the musket. I’ll make some finishing touches to the maps and do another round of bug testing to hopefully release a build next week.

Time Allocation (14 hours)

  • General Programming (6 hours)
  • Play Testing & Bug fixes (4 hours)
  • Map Creation (4 hours)

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started