Map Creation

Expanded level 2 (Forest) and added more bandit camps to the level. Also worked on bandit camp spawning mechanics. After defeating a bandit camp, the camp chest will be unlocked for the player to loot. I added save functionality, to remember whether a player already defeated a camp. I plan to renew bandit camps every night, or every new moon – similar to the system from BOTW.

Bug Fixes

Fixed bug when equipping two equippable items sequentially. Previously, the second item would not equip properly, since the previous item’s unequip interfered with it. I also changed gun functionality to allow the player to slowly move while loading and shooting the weapon. I wanted to have the player be stationary while shooting, but I thought it felt much more satisfying to be able to move.

Research

Played a game called Exanima which is a procedural top down fighting game. The game is extremely well made and optimized and the procedural combat feels great. I thought the movement and controls were hard to get used to, and would’ve liked a classic WASD style for moving. I also liked the middle mouse to pan camera functionality, and I might consider adding it back into Ronin Trail. The AI in the game are very complex and I might also want to add enemies to the game with questionable intentions – not having only bad and good people, but other people who the player may need to be cautious about.

Other

I participated in a 48 hour game jam this past weekend to develop Paranoir, a game where spies try to assassinate each other among a crowd. The topic of the jam was paranoia. It’s available to play on itch io right now.

https://dannyjp.itch.io/paranoir

Time Allocation (12 hours)

  • General Programming (4 hours)
  • Map Creation (3 hours)
  • Research (3 hours)
  • Play Testing (2 hours)
  • Game Jam (12 hours – not counted)

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started